Skip to content

Who is Black in America?

December 10, 2012

It’s pretty shocking to see a beautiful little girl question herself because she’s too dark.

Those are the images on my television screen during CNN’s Who is Black in America.

A seven-year-old girl, speaking with her mother about how she wants to be light-skinned.

This isn’t the first time I’ve seen colorism at hand. I had a co-worker at one of my many crappy jobs who confessed, as a black male, he didn’t date dark-skinned women because they are “too crazy.”

“I don’t like those black girls,” he used to say. “They be trippin’.”

I can’t imagine what a post-racial America would look like, but it’s got to be better than the self-doubt felt by minorities after decades of racism.

While we’re at it, lets stop accusing people of “acting white.” It’s such a disgusting thing to imply.

I am very lucky that I was born in Miami where I wasn’t considered a minority. The biggest different was that I was Colombian in a sea of Cubans. I think people should start looking at Miami as the future of the United States, an amalgamation of cultures blended to form something different.

I’m going to go read some Leonard Pitts Jr. columns about race. Excuse me.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

