Skip to content

10 Things: From Miami, Fla. to Brownsville, Texas

November 5, 2012

I recently made a decision to relocate my life from Miami to Brownsville, Texas. Basically, I’m crazy and while most people have expressed their excitement for me, they’ve still let me know how insane they think I am. At the least I’m close to the water in my new Texan home.

“From one resort town to another,” was how someone at the mall told me on Saturday.

Anyway, here’s a list of 10 things I learned from the big move.

1. Florida is ginormous. It’s huge. As a Miami native, I’ve only traveled to Sanibel, Orlando and made the customary college excursions to Gainesville and Tallahassee to learn how to play beer pong and gator chomp. But, seriously, it’s easy to get lost in the glitz and glamour of Miami. Drive. Drive as far as you can, because there’s so much to see in the Sunshine State.

2. New Orleans is gritty and beautiful. I really only got to spend about an hour in the French Quarter, but in that short amount of time I decided I wanted to return. Cafe Du Monde was an interesting spot where fashionable hipster meet underprivileged people. Anyway, it’s beautiful. I’m going back.

This is me posing for a picture by some train tracks in front of the water in New Orleans. Photo was taken by http://justthelens.tumblr.com/

3. I’m in love with the idea of living in the south. I’m in love with the idea of southern belles and that southern twang is music to my ears. I blame this on the crappy television I enjoy watching (Hart of Dixie, I’m looking at you).

4. Texas smells bad. Texas, you might be rich cause of oil, but crossing the border from Louisiana into Texas was a very smelly affair. Also, the smoke stacks are not attractive. They remind me of the big oil-spewing monster in FernGully: The Last Rainforest.

5. The last stretch of road to make it to the Rio Grande Valley is by far the worst drive ever. Dear US-77, you suck. And I’ve driven on a lot of roads.

6. I don’t believe in energy drinks. I think they’re bad for you and the idea of being chemically induced to feel hyper is not healthy. That said, Red Bull is fantastic for long drives. Every time I felt myself drifting, I took a sip. Whether it’s the placebo effect, I don’t know. But the disgusting taste woke me up.

7. Road trips are what you make of them. It’s better to go with the flow and enjoy your time on the road. Use it wisely. Use your time to plan and to think about the future. It’s good “me” time. Music gets you by. But, sometimes it’s good to just drive and listen to the sounds of the road.

8. A road trip’s success depends on the company you keep. Seriously, being stuck in a car for long periods of time with an ass-hat is not a good idea. It makes the whole difference. Luckily for me, my cousin and aunt were the best road trip companions ever.

9. I drove through much of the havoc of Superstorm Sandy. All I wanted to do was book a room and watch the coverage. I absolutely hate missing news.

10. Leaving Miami was one of the hardest things I’ve had to do. Leaving to college in Boston, Mass. was scary and sad, but I had great friends taking on the same adventure with me. But now, I’m on my own and I’m about to embark on a dream I’ve had for a few years. Let’s hope this journalism thing works out.

Here’s hoping I made the right decision.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

