Skip to content

In a Dylan-esque mood

September 14, 2012

Am I a real Bob Dylan fan if I only like his hits? You know, songs like, Hurricane, Like a Rolling Stone, Mr. Tambourine Man.

I tried listening to Tempest, his newest release, and didn’t get through much. I’m sure I’ll come around though.Bob Dylan (Bring it All Back Home Sessions)

There’s just something about those old songs that make my heart feel the honesty in his voice.
Anyway. The Dylan of yesterday is my latest choice of music these days.
I took a break from reading serious books (I just read Tim O’Brien’s The Things They Carried) and read about Chris O’Dell and her adventures as a semi-groupie/tour manager during the 60’s and 70’s.

Makes me wish I was part of that crew. I’m sure it makes everyone wish they were around during that time. You know, except without the drugs. The drugs are scary.

Anyway, I’m thinking of finding myself a copy of Martin Scorsese’s Dylan documentary, No Direction Home. I’ve seen a segment and I’d like to watch the rest and understand more about the greatest songwriter in America.

Until then, I’ll leave you with one of my favorite Dylan quotes:

“I accept chaos, I’m not sure whether it accepts me. “

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

