Skip to content

Photography 101

May 4, 2012

I decided to give myself a present last week.
I’ve wanted a DSLR for a long time.
The first time I was introduced to professional photography was my freshmen year of high school.
The first class I walked into at Braddock Senior High was photography.
This was before everything was digitized. I used a regular point and shoot and had the awful job of unrolling the film in those lightproof bags and developing it in a canister.
The smell of developing chemicals–developer, stop bath and the fixer– greeted me every morning that first year.
I loved my time spent in the dark room, but had to give it up because I am prone to allergies and was reacting badly to all of the chemicals.

Still, photography is something I’ve always enjoyed. Even before I learned how to develop film, I was that loser at parties with a cheap little point-and-shoot camera making sure I captured every memory possible.

This is why I’ve gifted myself a beautiful Nikon D3100.

I promised I would post a gallery once a week in order to make sure the camera doesn’t go to waste.

I’ve been pretty busy this week, so all I’ve had the chance to do is mess around with depth of field.

Anyway, I know people get a lot of flack because others make fun of someone having an expensive camera and thinking they’re a photographer. I assure that’s not the case here. I know I suck, but I learn by doing. Hopefully, I’ll be able to take some great pictures with time. And if not, at the very least I’ll be able to capture some wicked memories in the future.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

