Skip to content

How the crisis in Egypt is revitalizing journalism.

February 4, 2011

Clearly I am better at micro-blogging than I am at really blogging. But, this is a work in progress.

I promise there’s a reason for bringing up Twitter.

One of my favorite Twitter accounts to follow is @OHnewsroom. They never fail to make me lol irl, that’s another abbreviation I just learned a few days ago (I prefer rofl).

And today they posted, from a reporter,”“What does it say about journalism when my best work today was a tweet?”

Can I just say that I love the convergence between journalism and social media? Egypt’s protests began with social media and their tale is being told through social media.

Because of the hostilities aimed at the press, reporters in Egypt are now covering this story via their Twitter accounts. And it’s incredible.

I was also told that CNN‘s @AC360 was broadcasts via Skype today. Broke college students don’t have cable, so I’ll have to wait for the pod cast to be released tomorrow.

I study journalism at Emerson College, where there is a lot of emphasis on the old school method of reporting. Some of my favorite professors do not understand the concept of twitter; others are trying to adjust.

But, the tumult in Egypt (via Reuters) has made it obvious that this is where the future of reporting lies. It’s an excellent way of getting messages out to the rest of the world.

This isn’t the first time that journalism crosses paths with Twitter. A lot of news breaks on Twitter, but the biggest difference I see now is that reporters and journalists have learned from citizen journalism and are putting it to good use.

Aside from Twitter and journalism’s timely marriage, Al Jazeera is another topic that has been getting a lot of fanfare lately. Should it be broadcasts in the United States?

Well, why shouldn’t it? I think the more information out there the better. President George W. Bush did a great job of representing the news outlet as anti-American. And in our fragile moments as a country we believed it. But, I think it’s time we were open to a different style of news. The New York Times reported on Tuesday that 1.6 million Americans have visited AJE’s website to stream coverage of Egypt’s protests.

That means we’re interested.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

