Skip to content

Eric Schmidt and the Google explosion!

November 16, 2009

It was really interesting to watch the interview WBUR had with Eric Schmidt, CEO of Google. I had never really thought of Google as this huge social media tool. To me, it just seemed like a really awesome search engine.

 
Schmidt theorized that there will be an interim period of 10 to 15 years for the field of media to stabalize itself. It had never occurred to me that journalism was in an interim period. In a way it brings positivity to our field because it might not all be doom and gloom.

 
If I could ask Eric Schmidt a silly question, I’d ask him if he googles himself and if so, how often. If I could ask him a serious question I would want to know whether Google was born as just a search engine or if they had all of the ideas they have cultivated back then.

 
I also find it surprising that Schmidt runs such an honest business. The way he runs Google makes it transparent. They work and evolve for their audience.

Schmidt also brings up the damage that has been done to news companies. He voices his concern because people are not reading as much as they used to. He says they spend four minutes online on news sites when they used to spend 20 minutes consumed by a newspaper.

I was surprised to see that Schmidt said that they are trying to find a way to make money by working with news sources online for Google and for the news source. I think forming a more concrete relationship between these two different platforms would be a good idea.

I don’t think the government should not control the monopolies that have surfaced in the internet. This comes with a disclaimer: I love Google.

 

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

